News:

Version 1.20 is ready to download

Main Menu

Audya vs Tyros

Started by jan1kow, July 31, 2011, 10:21:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jan1kow

Deane
I love my SD2 but thought Tyros and Audya was ment to beeven better yet you say you prefer your SD2.
I have no first hand experience of Tyros and Audya but would be interested in more info from your comparison.
Here are some interesting youtube demos for Audya

http://wn.com/Ketron_Audya__ROCK%27N_ROLL_MEDLEY

jon

Deane

Jon,
I have played the Audya and was present when AJ gave a demo for the first time in
the US of the Audya.  There is no doubt the sounds are amazing and the build quality
outstanding.  The problem was and is with the operating system which was not fully
complete when the Audya was released.  There were a few OS updates that did not
seem to give owners what they had been promised.  Several of my friends have sold
their Audya keyboards and moved on. 

I have also played the SD5 and the SD1 which were pretty good keyboards and
did not give owners many problems.

I did not buy any of the Ketron products except for a Midijay, which I sold, until I started using
vArranger which really requires the SD2 Unit to get the best sounds.   So I really don't
prefer any of the Ketron products - it is just a matter of needing the SD2 Unit so I can
use vArranger.

I have owned and gigged with the Tyros 3 and now a Tyros 4.  They are both outstanding keyboards
that have thousands of styles available for them - and all for free.  I only play gigs for older people
living in retirement communities or assisted living places.  The music I play is from the 1920s up to
about the early 1960s and is from the great American singers and Big Bands of those times.  So, mostly
I am playing Jazz, Dixieland, Swing, Classic Country, and the ballads of the great American singers.   Yamaha really
has great styles for this kind of music and that is why I use them.