News:

Version 1.20 is ready to download

Main Menu

Pro/cons of vArranger ?

Started by GM, August 04, 2020, 12:24:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GM

I'm thinking of buying an arranger - either a keyboard (Korg Pa1000?) or vArranger.  I use Cubase and other DAWs so I'm not new to midi and my issue, especially as I have no experience with arrangers, is that it's almost impossible to understand the pro/cons of vA.  And I don't want to spend a substantial amount on a product that I'm unsure of.

There are many videos, how-tos, evaluations, reviews, comparisons etc of the major arranger keyboards, so I am confident I have a good feel for their quirks and limitations.  But there is very little out there about vArranger that I can use to compare my options - eg how does vA functionality compare to the various keyboards?  The vArranger youtube channel is mostly demos of the Ketron SD1000 and there is no way to trial vA.  Are there any resources (aside from the manual - I am not prepared to try to decode vA this way) that can give me a deeper understanding of vA and its specifics compared to the keyboards?

Although vA is a cheaper option I just don't think I can buy it "sight-unseen".

Thanks,
Geoff

Dan

Hello Geoff,

You can see the Online Manual here : https://www.varranger.com/wiki

Why do you want to buy an arranger, what do you want to do with it?
Maybe this will help us to give you a more precise answer

Regards,

Dan

GM

Thanks Dan, but I'm not sure you understood my post. 

If you did there would be videos or walkthroughs showing capabilities of the software on the vA website.  Yes there is a list of "features" at varranger.com/features but without seeing them being demonstrated I find it difficult/impossible to evaluate vA.