Author Topic: Old GEM keyboard problem..  (Read 807 times)

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Old GEM keyboard problem..
« on: November 13, 2017, 06:55:24 PM »
Hi Dan, I'm using an old GEM keyboard as an expander with Roland styles, connecting it to vA2 with a USB-MIDI adapter cable. I'm noticing that in the presence of CC32 (bank select LSB) messages, the keyboard can not change the sounds. Is it an event timing problem? Probably the internal clock of the keyboard is slow in "reading" MIDI events compared to the computer's USB transmission. Is it possible to add a check to filter them from vA2? Or increase data transmission delay?
Thank you..

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7783
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2017, 07:23:26 PM »
In KETRON mode, vArranger does not send CC32

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2017, 11:15:53 PM »
..but my GEM supports the Roland GS Sysex .. in fact imposed GS mode of vA2 ..  ;)

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7783
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2017, 02:08:31 PM »
What GEM model?  This is strange that it does not accepts the CC32

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2017, 05:01:00 PM »
GEM WK2..generally GEM skips CC32, but i think that at some transmission speed cause a "no" sound change ..

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7783
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2017, 05:09:36 PM »
Right clic on a track, and change the CC32 to the value 0, and see if now it is OK
Maybe the WK2 doesn't change the sound, if it does not exists in its memory

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2017, 05:20:02 PM »
After work i'll try this.. ;)

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2017, 06:39:09 PM »
Dan, I confirm your hypothesis .. I change to 0 the cc32 then the keyboard recognizes the sound .. ???

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7783
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2017, 07:14:41 PM »
So you have to put the CC32 to 0 and save your sounds and styles to go with your GEM sound module

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2017, 07:46:35 PM »
Exactly .. can you add a MIDI Filter (as I recall from me time ago) to filter CCs from vA2?

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7783
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2017, 07:49:03 PM »
For now, I don't plan to add a ' GEM ' mode in the list...

Offline DjTony1981

  • vArranger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Old GEM keyboard problem..
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2017, 07:51:19 PM »
..and a check control to filter the CC32?  :D