News:

Version 1.20 is ready to download

Main Menu

Replacing Controller Keyboard

Started by Bernie9, March 13, 2015, 10:27:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bernie9

I am replacing my old Axiom with a Novation 61 SL MK11.  I need to know what steps I need to take besides remapping the controller file in vArranger to the Novation.

For example: I have saved songs as "ALL" , which I think includes controller information.  Do I have to remap and resave these songs ?

Anything else ?

ovation99

Hi,
As a novice my information maybe incorrect, but I have an Axiom 61 which was mapped to VA2.
Subsequently, I bought a Samson graphite 49 and had to re-map the VA2 to accommodate the new keyboard, but I find that part of the fun.
So it looks like you may have to re-save your songs for the new keyboard, but I may be wrong here.
As a tip, I have saved my configurations (vArranger2.ini) in different folders, so that I can recall a specific config depending on which keyboard I am using.

AL

agaton

@Bernie9

It is not so simply. First you have to see what of Midi Control Numbers
are defined to physical Controllers on Novation. Than go to Controllers
in vArranger2 and make your Controller Map. It will be little bit more
work for you.

Dan

Configuration for the Novation SLMKII is :

- MIDI IN 1 : NOVATION SL MKII
- MIDI IN 2 : MIDIIN2-NOVATION SL MKII        LED FEEDBACK 2  [X]     MIDIOUT2-NOVATION SL MKII

Then you reassign in CONTROLLERS screen

No modifications or resaving songs needed

Bernie9

I am using an M-Audio Uno as an interface, and SD4 with Surface Pro 2.  Since the ports have been showing the Uno instead of the Axiom, does this change the process ?

My keyboard will be delivered this afternoon so I can't tell what the port configuration will read.

Dan

You need to plug the Novation SLMKII USB cable directely into the USB hub. No need to plug it to the M-Audio Uno
The usb cable will allow to power the keyboard and also transfer the midi data.

Bernie9